The TxDLA Policymaker of the Year Award was established in 2014 and is presented to local, state or federal official who has substantially assisted in the advancement of Digital Learning in the State of Texas.

2023 Policymaker of the Year: Rex Gore

Rex Gore was appointed by Governor Greg Abbott to serve on the Texas Commission on Virtual Education, and was named chair of the commission. The commission was established to develop and make recommendations regarding the delivery of virtual education in the public school system and state funding for virtual education under the Foundation School Program.

Rex Gore of Austin is President of PJS of Texas and co-founder of CleanScapes. He is a member of the State Board for Educator Certification and a former board member of Building Owners and Managers Association, Real Estate Council of Austin, Austin Chamber of Commerce, and the Boy Scouts of America. He is a regional board member for IDEA Public Schools and a member of the Texas Business Leadership Council Education Task Force. He is the co-founder and board member of PelotonU and former board chair of TCSA - Charter Schools Now C4 and Regents School of Austin. Gore received a Bachelor of Science in Agriculture Economics and a Master of Business Administration from Kansas State University.

Past Recipients:

2014 - Representative Todd Hunter, District 32